The Beast is Back

I’ve written about handlebar bags a lot. Like here, and here. And then, about three years ago, I started using a front basket instead.

I’m back to a front bag, and here’s why. Sort of. Other than the actual underlying basis (that I think it looks good). 😁

Ultimately, I think it comes down to utility and appearance. On the plus utility side, the bag is quieter, more weatherproof, has nice little pockets in back for glucose tablets and the like, can hold a map or cue sheet (or even a smart phone) in a pocket on top. This one also has side pockets that can hold energy bars (when you’re a type 1 diabetic, food is a major concern. The bag is also gentler on hard-edged devices like cameras. And it looks French, like the old TA cycling bags:

On the minus utility side, it can’t hold as much. That is, I have to carry my briefcase on my back or in a pannier. It’s considerably less aerodynamic, not being made of wire and holes. And it doesn’t have a place to mount my headlight. However, as you can see from the photo, this particular design is short enough back-to-front to allow me an alternate rack-mount position for my headlight.

On the appearance side, I think there’s no comparison. A bike basket says “I’m just gonna cruise around.” A good handlebar bag says “I’m on tour.” It looks faster (even though it’s not).

This particular bag is an Ostrich F104N. The “N” is important. Here’s an F104:

As you can see, it’s pretty big. I might venture to say gargantuan.

The F104N is about 2/3 or so smaller than its larger cousin. While the F104 is (pardon my metric) H220xW260xD200mm, the F104N is H220×W260×D140. While that substantially reduces its volume, it still leaves plenty, because the bag is tall. My old F516, by comparison, was 210x210x170. Volume wise:

F104: 11.44 liters
F104N: 8.01 liters
F516: 7.40 liters

As you can see, even the 516, though smaller in volume, really crowded the headlight off my rack, such that I had to mount it low (the optimal position is, I think, just above the wheel) By the way, I’m using the same rack as before on the same bike as before, albeit repainted and adapted for my Old Man neck stiffness. Compare the photo below, from 2014, to the one at the top of this entry, from 2024:

So, to me, a pretty useful size, made better because of the height, which puts it just below my handlebars (more on the way I’ve got it set up later). I can put a small (water bottle size) thermos into it and it’s just the right height to grab. Also, it has a narrow front pocket under the flap that can carry any number of things, including the included bright yellow rain cover. The bag is pretty water resistant, but if you’re riding into the rain, this proofs the bag and improves your visibility.

Where can you get it? I believe that SOMA carries these in the US; there are lots of good Japanese sources, like Alex’s Cycle (start here). I got this one on eBay, new, for less than the ones that Alex’s sells and–it’s black. All of the 104Ns that I’ve seen have been white, blue, or pink, which probably stopped me from buying them in the past. So when I saw this one (kinda by accident) I nabbed it.

Anyway. I like it.

So there.

About lawschoolissoover

Lawyer/mediator, former software engineer, recovering sociologist, cyclist, photographer, musician, pacifist, diabetic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment