Ground Control to Major Tom

It’s highly, but not extremely, unlikely that I heard Space Oddity when it came out in 1969.  In 1969 I was so into space that I would have listened to anything that had the word “rocket” in or anywhere near it.  I was 11 years old, and Apollo 11 was happening, and we were finally leaving the dust of this dirty little planet…

Last night, my 16-year-old daughter and I worked on some parachutes.  For some model rockets we’re building.  So it was a bit of mind flip this morning to wake up and learn that David Bowie had died.

That’s about all I have to say, except that I have a message for David, wherever he may be:

“I’m happy, hope you’re happy too.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

