Living in the Past

A few months ago, I mentioned a guy named Richard Thompson.  I was first introduced to Mr. Thompson through the purchase of an album called Fairport Chronicles, which chronicled (appropriately) the work of the band Fairport Convention.

So I would be remiss if I didn’t mention a terrifically important part of Fairport Convention–Sandy Denny:

Sandy Denny was a remarkable singer and songwriter, and Fairport Convention’s best-known vocalist.

The more I learn about her the more I compare her to Janis Joplin, and the more I think she was a forerunner of people like Stevie Nicks,

Oh yeah–and she performed with Led Zepplin.

She died in 1978.

I write about Sandy now because a very well-written biography of her has just been published:  I’ve Always Kept a Unicorn by Mick Houghton.

I’m not going to link to videos or music here, because I think she’s worth hunting out.  It’s not difficult.  So take the trouble.  You’ll be glad you did.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

