A Couple of Prideful Little Things

A couple of things I’m pretty chuffed about this week–

First, I fixed a bathtub leak.  Well, not exactly the tub.  For the past year, there’s been a little leakage coming down from the bathroom into the kitchen ceiling anytime anyone takes a shower of more than a moment’s duration.  A plumber came out and charged us $300 to cut holes in two walls and tell us nothing was leaking.  He thought the problem must be water slopping out past the curtain.

So.

T was convinced there was a problem with the seal between the tub and the tile around it that was letting water through.  Even had the plumber “seal” it (OK, this was included in the $300).  Still leaked.

Then I noticed something.  Our tub is some kind of fiberglass, which means it’s light, and it’s well-supported beneath by wooden beams.  I suspected that when it was full of water or a person, it was moving–just a little–enough to cause problems.

So one day I climbed into the shower with my clothes and glasses on and looked, and noticed that, in fact, I could see small gaps form in the grout when my weight was in the tub.  They disappeared when I got out.

Last weekend, I bought some fast-setting grout and a large storage tub of the type used for spare junk in workshops.  I put the latter into the bathtub and filled it with water and, sure enough, the gaps appeared.  I applied new grout and let the weighted tub sit overnight.

In the morning, I dumped the water out of the storage tub (yay!  I have another place to keep bike junk!) and had a shower.  No leaks.

So that was good.

and–

This morning I had to drive, since I have to pick up my son after work.  Just for the heck of it, I checked the George-the-alleged-car’s log book.  Since March, I’ve averaged less than one gas station stop per month.  Not too bad–I’m sure I could do better (and have done) but it’s satisfying to know that the alleged car is not contributing too much to climate change.

That is all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

