What’s it got in its pocketses?

It’s been a while since I’ve done anything along the “almost perfect” sort of line that I used to jump-start myself back into blogging.  So I thought it was time.

Those who have been with me from the beginning, or perhaps visited once in a blue moon, are aware of my obsession with bags.  I’m still very happy with my Europa.  It’s done everything I wanted it to do.  But.

I have been unhappy with my wallet.  Men tend to form long-term relationships with wallets, and mine was rocky.  Let me clarify.  When I was in high school, I bought a wallet.  I liked it–it had no name (as far as I know), folded nicely and closed with velcro.  It had a coin pocket and held all the cards I needed.  Then.  I kept that wallet for something like fifteen years, then–on its death–went through a series of flirtations with similar (but not as nice) wallets until 1999, when I found an inexpensive North Face bifold wallet.  It was purple, but it was good.  And I kept using that wallet until about a year ago, when it started to be “insecure” with my cards (now I have a ton of those!).  So I bought a replacement and I hated it.  I tried another replacement–leather this time–and I hated it too.

These wallets were bulky and unpleasant.  Lots of pockets for cards, and a flip-out panel for a driver’s license.  Etc.

Several weeks ago, I saw a photo that intrigued me of something called an Elephant Wallet.  I thought about it, then bit down and ordered one.  Here it is:

ImageThe Elephant Wallet, which is made in Poland, consists of two thin pieces of aluminum and an elastic strip.  You stuff your cards into it, along with any folded bills.  To get something out, you shove the cards to one end and either fan them out or squeeze the tabs at the opposite end.  I usually keep my license tucked under the band on one side, two or three business cards tucked under on the other.

It’s tiny.  Barely bigger than its contents, and adds virtually no weight.  You wouldn’t want to carry it in the traditional position–the back pocket.  It’s a front pocket wallet.

Interestingly, when people see it, they say something like “But it’s so small–won’t you lose it?”

Nope.  I don’t lose things from my pockets.  I’ve never lost a set of keys, and I’ve never lost a wallet.  But more importantly, I’ve been diabetic for 43 years, and I have spent almost all that time carrying some form of glucose.  An insulin reaction is not something to trifle with.  So, I keep things in my pocket.

I think this is one of the things I’m going to be keeping.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s it got in its pocketses?

  1. Jnana Hodson says:

    So true about wallets. I’ve come to prefer a tri-fold, but only if it has a place for a spare car key, a touch that has saved my ass more than once when I was many miles from home.

  2. As a follow-on, I should note that the band wore out pretty quickly, I bought two replacement bands, silicone rubber, I think, that worked better. I got two just to be on the safe side. After a little more than a year, the first rubber band broke, and I was happy I had purchased a second. However, that one broke during installation.

    So, back to a bifold leather wallet. Cheap, available. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

