I think you ought to know I’m feeling very depressed.

“I think you ought to know I’m feeling very depressed”

–Marvin, the Paranoid Android (The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy)

 

Yeah, it’s going to be one of those days/weeks/weekends.  Since Sunday I have had only one day on the bike, due to rain and errands.  Today we’re expecting 4″-6″ more of rain, and I’m not quite bloody-minded enough to ride in that right now.  Still sore from a fall last week that (at least) bruised some ribs (which fortunately didn’t bother me much on the Tour century).  Gray weather, too much work–meaningless work, not mediation–and then I’m spending Friday and Saturday at an Alternative Dispute Resolution conference in Massachusetts.  So no biking for a while.  But I’m just down.

Fortunately, I’m not among the chronically depressed, and so I’ll recover in a few hours or a few days.

I’m sort of depressed about something else, too.  I’m looking at many of my classmates, who finished law school two years ago, and they’re working.  They’re real people.  I don’t believe it.  I can’t believe, in my heart of hearts, that a 25-year-old is ready to be an attorney.  I suspect that shows that I still have an over-inflated notion of what an attorney is…  But then again, I don’t know if I can believe in my heart of hearts that a 55-year-old should be running things, either.  I still feel like I have a lot of “getting ready” to do in my life.

Weird.  (BTW, to properly understand my expression, you have to pronounce this word the way Jordan does in Real Genius when she encounters Mitch in the bathroom.  OK, I just discovered a project to remake Real Genius and now I’m even more depressed!)

Anyway, Blah.  That’s all I really wanted to say.  Tell me why I don’t like Thursdays.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

