The Slow Spark of High-Wheeled Boys

The percentage you’re paying is too high a price
While you’re living beyond all your means
And the man in the suit has just bought a new car
From the profit he’s made on your dreams
But today you just read that the man was shot dead
By a gun that didn’t make any noise
But it wasn’t the bullet that laid him to rest was
The low spark of high-heeled boys

–Traffic

I had an interesting ride today. 

Within the widest meaning of the term, I’m a roadie.  That means that I ride a bike with drop handlebars, I wear spandex (occasionally), my bike has narrow tires, and I like to go fast.  My speed record, for what it’s worth, is 53.5 MPH (Downhill on a newly-paved road near La Crosse, Wisconsin, on 23mm-wide tires.  Yes, I am sometimes an idiot).

But today was different.  Today was Sunday.  I went to church (yes, I go to church).  While there, I made a home teaching appointment.  After lunch, I headed out to the appointment.  Unfortunately, I headed out at 2:30 and the appointment was at 4:00.  And the appointment was only about four miles away. 

So I decided to go slow. 

I don’t think I went more than 12 or 13 MPH except for one or two downhills.  I went s-l-o-w.  I rode all around my neighborhood, the neighborhood where we’re probably going to buy a house, and the neighborhood of the family I was visiting.  I just cruised.

And it was a lot of fun.  It was riding solely for the sake of riding.

Speed is important when you’re racing.  It’s important when you need to get somewhere.  It’s not important when you’re looking at ducks on a reservoir, or when you’re watching a sunset, or when you have time to kill.

Most of the time, in other words, speed is important. 

But not always.  I think I may have to home teach more often.  And next time I have a long ride, a century or somehing like that?  I might just go slow. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Slow Spark of High-Wheeled Boys

  1. Pingback: Buying a House/Swans/Suzanne | Law School is So Over

Leave a Reply

