I’m Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack!

Over the past few days, I’ve started riding again.  It’s just over two months since the accident that resulted in a new right hip, and I’m riding again!  This post is mostly devoted to bicycling lust (both the object and the ride) so if that bores you, feel free to move on.

First, the object (which has been keeping me sane during my physical recovery, by giving me something to obsess about:

WP_000419

Details (for the non-bike-lustful, boring):

  • Frame & Fork:  Velo Orange Rando, 57cm
  • Headset:  Velo Orange Alloy
  • Stem:  Dia Compe ENE
  • Bars:  Syntace SL (6061 model)
  • Levers:  Tektro, with Cane Creek “gum” hoods
  • Tape:  Serfas dark brown synthetic cork
  • Bell:  Crane striker, mounted to stem
  • Seatpost:  Velo Orange setback (“Grand Cru”)
  • Saddle:  Velo Orange Model 1
  • Front Rack:  Velo Orange Rando
  • Front Light:  Avenir Dynamo headlight
  • Front Wheel:
    • Shimano DH-N370 dynohub
    • 32DB spokes
    • Mavic CXP33 rim
    • Panaracer Pasela TG 700×28 tire
  • Drivetrain:
    • Shimano 105 7-speed DT levers in friction mode
    • Ultegra Octolink crank (53/39) and 105 BB
    • SPD pedals
    • Shimano 600 front derailer (the gray one)
    • Shimano Ultegra (9s) rear derailer
    • SRAM chain
    • SRAM 12-26 9s cassette
  • Rear Wheel
    • 105 (10s version) hub
    • 32 spokes
    • Alex rim (similar to CXP33)
    • Panaracer Pasela TG 700×28 tire
  • Rear Rack:  Axiom Streamliner Deluxe Road, modified for tighter fit
  • Rear Light:  The biggest, baddest one that Portland Design Works had!
  • Fenders:  Esge/SKS P35
  • Bottle cages:  Stainless
  • Water Bottle:  courtesy of The Devil’s Gear
  • Bag:  Mountain Equipment Coop
  • Brakes (and this is where we stop):
    • Front:  Tektro 559 extra-long-reach dual-pivot
    • Rear:  Dia Compe 610 centerpull

Had enough?  Good.  Now…

I woke up early this morning (see Morning People), showered, and got on my bike.  It’s still a little trial to get on, since I’d normally just throw my right leg over the saddle, and that’s a ways off.  But I got on.  Lights on in the pre-dawn gloom, I rode three miles or so to a trailhead, got on, and rode about four miles in the other direction, stopped in at Bruegger’s, and treated myself to a poppy seed bagel breakfast.

Then I rode to work.

At noon, I headed out for a five or six mile loop—back to the trail, then off and onto Mather, to Waite, to Whitney.  I rode back on Whitney, past the house we’re trying to buy, and made it back to work for a 20-minute loop.  Yes, slow, but fun.

If you’re not a cyclist, you don’t know the joy of riding; it’s very much like I imagine flying would be if I could do it without an airplane.  Effortless; the bike follows your body and goes (for better or worse) where you want to go.  You don’t know you’re propelling it until suddenly, after 30 miles or so, you realize you’re a little tired, and a little hungry.  But for me, that’s yet to come.

Right now my leg is a little sore, but it’s had more miles on it in the last day than it had in the past month.  I hope to double my distance tomorrow morning, but we’ll have to see.  I can see that I still need to do some saddle adjustment (I want it a little higher and a little farther back) but it’s almost there.

There are a few things yet to do on this bike.  There are a few things yet to do on me.

We’re getting there.

We’re back!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

